About the School

Follow us_twitter

News and events

Eight ARC Discovery Projects commencing in 2024

The Funding Announcements page on the Australian Research Council website includes details of eight Discovery Projects with members of the School of Mathematics and Statistics as chief investigators. The people are

See also our Research Grants page.

The Eleventh Annual Integrable Systems Workshop

The 11th Workshop on Integrable Systems will be held in the School of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Sydney, on 30th November and 1st December 2023.

DECRA for Lindon Roberts

Dr Lindon Roberts is the recipient of a Discovery Early Career Researcher Award, with funding to commence in 2024. For more details see the Funding Announcements page on the Australian Research Council website.


The 2023 iteration of the annual Workshop on Optimisation, Metric Bounds, Approximation and Transversality (WOMBAT) will be run in conjunction with the second biennial Workshop on the Intersections of Computation and Optimisation (WICO 2023), at the University of Sydney Business School (Abercrombie Building (H70), corner of Abercrombie Street and Codrington Streets) from 11 to 15 December 2023. For further information, including how to register, see the WOMBAT/WICO 2023 web page.

Geordie Williamson and Simon Riche win 2023 Frontiers of Science Award

Geordie Williamson and Simon Riche (Laboratoire de Mathématiques Blaise Pascal) are awarded a "Frontiers of Science Award" in the Lie Theory and Representation Theory category at the International Congress of Basic Science in Beijing, China. The award is for the paper “Smith-Treumann Theory and the Linkage Principle”, which was published in Publications mathématiques de l'IHÉS(2022).

Geordie Williamson awarded an Australian Laureate Fellowship 2023

The Australian Research Council has announced that Professor Geordie Williamson is one of seventeen new Australian Laureate Fellows. See the ARC website for a summary of his Fellowship Project "Unlocking the secrets of modular representations", as well as further information about the Laureate Fellowships.

School statisticians are recognised by the Statistical Society of Australia

To mark and celebrate the 60th anniversary of The SSA, the Statistical Society of Australia have put together a list of 60 historical and current prominent Australian statisticians. Our School has 6 current, honorary and former staff on it:

"Computational Algebra and Magma" conference

This meeting will bring together a group of leading international researchers who have many connections to the computer algebra system Magma and its founder Prof. John Cannon. It will celebrate two events: the 30th anniversary of the official launch of Magma, and the outstanding contributions of John as he reaches a personal milestone. The conference will be followed by a workshop on computational number theory. See more details and register for the events via the conference webpage.

Dates: 27-29 November for the main conference; 30 November - 1 December for the workshop.
Venue: Sibyl Centre, Women's College, the University of Sydney.
Organisers: Murray Elder (UTS), Andrew Mathas (USyd), Eamonn O'Brien (Auckland), Anna Romanov (UNSW), Leanne Rylands (WSU) and Don Taylor (USyd).

Moran Medal for Rachel Wang.

Dr Rachel Wang has been awarded a Moran Medal for 2023, in recognition of her outstanding research at the interface of theoretical statistics, computational statistics and data-driven applied fields. For more details see the announcement on the website of the Australian Academy of Science, and also the University of Sydney news item.

Three ARC Discovery Projects commencing in the School in 2023.

Professor Peter Kim, Professor Geordie Williamson and Associate Professor Oded Yacobi have received funding from the Australian Research Council for projects commencing in 2023. See our Research Grants page for further information.

Geordie Williamson awarded 2022 NSW Premier's Prize for Excellence in Mathematics

Prof. Geordie Williamson has been recognised for his exceptional leadership as Director of the University of Sydney’s Mathematical Research Institute and for raising the profile of the field in NSW and Australia. He is one of three USyd academics who have been awarded NSW Premier's Prizes for Science & Engineering in 2022, read more in the University of Sydney news article. See also the Premier's Prizes webpage for more information about all prize winners in 2022.

MRFF success for members of the School 2023

The following members of the School of Mathematics and Statistics have been awarded funding from the Australian Government’s Medical Research Future Fund beginning in 2023.

  • Prof Jean Yang, a member of the Chief Investigator team for Professor Alex Brown's project Pathways to benefit for Indigenous Australians in Genomic Medicine.
  • A/Prof Pengyi Yang, a member of the Chief Investigator team for Doctor Anai Gonzalez Cordero's project Development of photoreceptor cell therapy to treat blindness.
  • Dr Ellis Patrick, a member of the Chief Investigator team for Associate Professor Natasha Rogers's project REnal FactORs Modify HEART disease Study – REFORM HEARTS.
Further information is available on our research grants web page. The full list of MRFF grant recipients is available on the fund's website.

→ Old news and events