NPDE Conference

International Conference on

Nonlinear Partial Differential Equations

A celebration of Professor Yihong Du's 60th birthday


Taking advantage of Professor Yihong Du’s 60th birthday, this conference will bring together leading international researchers on nonlinear partial differential equations, as well as Australian researchers, in particular junior researchers, to report and discuss recent developments, exchange ideas, and foster or strengthen collaborations.

The conference will focus on new developments in several themes of nonlinear partial differential equations and their applications, especially those to which Professor Du has made significant contributions. They include nonlinear elliptic and parabolic equations, the calculus of variations, and their applications in biology.

The Venue

The conference can be attended in person on
  • Monday, 21 November 2022*
and from
  • Wednesday to Friday, 23-25 November 2022
in the Burra and Guru room at the Taronga Institute of Science and Learning located in Taronga Zoo Sydney.

* There are no talks scheduled on Tuesday, 22 November 2022 because of the Social Event.


(Photo copyright by Taronga Zoo Sydney)

Back to Top

The Format

    The Talks:

  • The conference hosts 33 talks on recent topics governing the current trend in nonlinear partial differential equations.
  • Each talk is 30 minutes long followed-up by a 5 minutes Q&A discussion guided by the chair of the talk.
  • Some of the talks are given in person an the Taronga Institute of Science & Learning Center and some are given live via Zoom.
  • The list of talks can either be found on the Titles & Abstracts page, or sorted by day and time on the Program page.

    The Delivery Mode:

    Online attendance:

  • If you intend to attend the conference online , but you are not yet registred, then please do this through the online form below.

Back to Top


Every interested researcher is invited to attend and participate at this event. But to cover the costs for catering, we request AU$ 50 for Non-AMSI & AustMS members, AU$40 for AMSI & AustMS members, and AU$ 30 for students. Participation at the conference dinner will cost AU$100 for everyone (except for invited speakers).

Please send an email to Daniel Hauer for registering to the conference.

This event has especially the intention to give PhD students and early career researchers (ECR) the opportunity to meet some of the leading experts in the field of nonlinear partial differential equations. The participation of each ECR at this conference is warmly welcomed.

Back to Top

Invited Speakers

The following invited speakers confirmed their participation:

  • Inkyung Ahn
    (Korea University, South Korea)
  • Thomas Bartsch
    (Universität Giessen, Germany)
  • Barbara Brandolini
    (Università degli Studi di Palermo, Italy)
  • Michel Chipot
    (Universität Zurich, Switzerland)
  • Norman Dancer
    (University of Sydney, Australia)
  • Weiwei Ding
    (South China Normal University in Guangzhou, China)
  • Serena Dipierro
    (University of Western Australia)
  • Messoud Efendiev
    (Helmholtz Zentrum Munich, Germany)
  • Massimo Grossi
    (La Sapienza Università di Roma, Italy)
  • Changfeng Gui
    (University of Texas in San Antonio, United States)
  • Yuxia Guo
    (Tsinghua University in Peking, China)
  • Zongming Guo
    (Henan Normal University, China)
  • Danielle Hilhorst
    (Université Paris-Saclay, France)
  • Yanyan Li
    (Rutgers University, United States)
  • Jiakun Liu
    (University of Wollongong, Australia)
  • Bendong Lou
    (Shanghai Normal University, China)
  • Hiroshi Matano
    (Meiji University in Tokyo, Japan)
  • Hiroshi Matsuzawa
    (Kanagawa University, Japan)
  • Linfeng Mei
    (Zhejiang Normal University, China)
  • Monica Musso
    (University of Bath, United Kingdom)
  • Rui Peng
    (Jiangsu Normal University in Xuzhou, china)
  • Wenxian Shen
    (Auburn University Alabama, United States)
  • Angela Pistoia
    (La Sapienza Università di Roma, Italy)
  • Frédéric Robert
    (Université de Lorraine, France)
  • Fernando Quiros
    (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain)
  • Shigui Ruan
    (The University of Miami, United States)
  • Junping Shi
    (College of William and Mary, United States)
  • Susanna Terracini
    (Università di Torino, Italy)
  • Neil Trudinger
    (Australian National University)
  • Enrico Valdinoci
    (University of Western Australia)
  • Jérôme Vétois
    (McGill University in Quebec, Canada)
  • Mingxin Wang
    (Henan Polytechnic University, China)
  • Zhi-Qiang Wang
    (Utah State University, United States)
  • Yaping Wu
    (Capital Normal University Peking, China)

Back to Top

The Board of Organizers

Back to Top


  • The University of Sydney, Australia
  • The University of New England, Australia

Back to Top