# Recent Advances in Nonlinear PDE (UNE July 16-21, 2006): Edward Norman Dancer

Below is a short biography of Professor Norman Dancer (FAA).

### **Education**

Professor Norman Dancer was born in Bundaberg, Queensland, Australia in 1946. He graduated from the Australian National University, Canberra in 1968 with 1st Class Honours. He then got a PhD from The University of Cambridge, UK in 1972.

## **Appointments**

Norman Dancer was appointed a Lecturer at The University of New England in 1973, promoted to Senior Lecturer in 1976 and received a Personal Chair in 1987. Since 1993 he is a Professor of Mathematics in the School of Mathematics and Statistics at the The University of Sydney. He has held many visiting appointments at prestigious institutions including Newton Centre Cambridge, University of Bath, Brigham Young University, Minnesota Institute of Mathematics, Rutgers University, University of Wisconsin, Université de Paris, Universität Giessen.

#### **Honours**

Norman Dancer was elected a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science (FAA) in 1996 and is currently one of six mathematicians in Australia on the ISI list of highly cited researchers (see his Biography at ISI). He also held a Research Award of the Humboldt Foundation in 2004 (see the news item (in german)).

#### **Publications**

Norman Dancer has published extensively with a large number of coauthors (see the list from MathSciNet). You can view his list of publications at

- School of Mathematics and Statistics Publications Database (Univ. Sydney, free access)
- MathSciNet (subscription needed)
- ISI Thomson (subscription needed, seems to end 2002)

## **Editorial Boards**

Norman Dancer is currently on the editorial board of a number of journals including Abstract and Applied Analysis, Advanced Nonlinear Studies, Advances in Differential Equations, Communications in Applied Nonlinear Analysis, and Topological Methods in Nonlinear Analysis.

# **Current an Past Postdoctoral Fellows**

Nils Ackermann (from 2005), Daniel Daners (1993–1995), Yihong Du (1991–1992), Zongming Guo (Donghua University, China) (1992–1994), Shusen Yan (1996–2005).